Qualification challenged

How far can an employer change the tasks assigned to an employee?

The employee is protected under his or her employment contract and labour standards. Certain elements of the employment contract cannot be modified by the employer without the prior agreement of the employee. These are the qualification, remuneration, duration and, to a lesser extent, the place of work.

Boundaries

 The employee is assigned a work center that requires a certain qualification and a number of duties or tasks. We will therefore consider that within the framework of its power of direction, the employer will be able to modify the attributions entrusted to his employee. But to what extent? Because the modification of the attributions can lead to the modification of the employee's qualification either in one direction or in the other.  Moreover, it is the employer's responsibility to ensure that the employee has received the necessary training to perform his or her duties.  An omission at this level on the part of the employer will create great difficulties in the work environment.

Change of qualification

The employee's position will thus be devalued because the tasks entrusted to him/her no longer require the same qualification. On the other hand, he will consider that his new duties are much more complex and require a higher qualification and therefore the corresponding remuneration.

The employer must act with great tact. If he can impose changes in tasks, this must not affect the employee's qualifications.

He or she must have a certain amount of leeway to adapt each person's responsibilities to the operating needs of his or her company. Thus, he or she may entrust new functions to one or another, or remove functions that are no longer necessary or that must, for organizational reasons, be entrusted to another employee.

The change of tasks does not lead to a change in the employment contract if the employee's qualification is not called into question. On the other hand, it can lead to changes in the personnel assignment because the employee's responsibilities are significantly reduced.

The employer must always take great care to ensure that the employee's qualifications are not attained. This is why it is so important to draw up the employment contract in order to define the position and the tasks entrusted to the employee.

By Christine Therien

References by François-Xavier Michel, Droits-Finances

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Qualification remise en question

Jusqu’où en employeur peut-il modifier des tâches assignées à l’employé?

Le salarié fait l’objet d’une protection dans le cadre de son contrat de travail et des normes du travail. Certains éléments du contrat de travail ne peuvent pas être modifiés par l’employeur sans que celui-ci ait préalablement reçu l’accord de son salarié. Il s’agit de la qualification, de la rémunération, de la durée et dans une moindre mesure du lieu de travail.

Limites

 Le salarié se voit confier un poste de travail qui suppose une certaine qualification ainsi qu’un certain nombre d’attributions ou de tâches. On va donc considérer que dans le cadre de son pouvoir de direction, l’employeur va pouvoir modifier les attributions confiées à son salarié. Mais jusqu’où ? Car la modification des attributions peut aboutir à la modification de la qualification du salarié soit dans un sens, soit dans l’autre.  De plus, il est de la responsabilité de l’employeur de s’assurer que l’employé a reçu la formation nécessaire pour accomplir ses fonctions.  Une omission à ce niveau de la part de l’employeur créera de grandes difficultés dans l’environnement de travail.

Changement de qualification

Le salarié va ainsi voir son poste dévalorisé en raison de ce que les tâches qu’on lui confie n’exigent plus la même qualification. A l’inverse, il va considérer que ses nouvelles attributions sont nettement plus complexes et exigent une qualification supérieure et donc la rémunération correspondante.

L’employeur doit agir avec beaucoup de doigté. S’il peut imposer des modifications de tâches, cela ne doit pas modifier la qualification du salarié.

Il doit disposer d’une certaine marge de manoeuvre pour adapter les attributions de chacun aux nécessités de fonctionnement de son entreprise. Ainsi pourra-t-il confier à tel ou tel de nouvelles fonctions, ou lui en ôter qui n’ont plus lieu d’être ou qui doivent par souci d’organisation être confiées à un autre salarié.

La modification des tâches n’emporte pas de modification du contrat de travail lorsque la qualification du salarié n’est pas remise en cause. Par contre, elle peut entraîner des changements dans le contrat de travail par l’importante diminution de responsabilités du salarié.

L’employeur doit toujours veiller impérieusement à ne pas atteindre la qualification de son salarié. D’où vient l’importance de la rédaction du contrat de travail dans la définition du poste et des tâches confiées au salarié.

Références par François-Xavier Michel, Droits-Finances

Leave a Reply